FAQ

What are the two motor vehicle insurance laws in florida

table of contents

4. driving privilege

  • 4.1. Driving a motor vehicle in Florida is an earned privilege
  • 4.2. point system
  • 4.3. red light cameras/infractions
  • 4.4. mandatory restriction for minors
  • 4.5. zero tolerance
  • 4.6. driving under the influence
  • 4.7. other serious violations of licensing law
  • 4.8. administrative hearings
  • 4.9. florida motor vehicle insurance laws
  • 4.10. traffic accidents
  • 4.11. littering
  • 4.12. road damage
  • in florida, there are two motor vehicle insurance laws. They are the financial responsibility law and the no-fault law. It’s important that you understand these laws because if you don’t have the right insurance, you can lose your driver’s license and tags and have to pay large fees to get them back.

    4.9.1 – the financial responsibility law

    Financial Responsibility Law requires motor vehicle owners and operators to be financially responsible for damages and/or injuries they may cause to others when an automobile accident occurs. this law requires any person to have bodily injury liability insurance at the time of the following:

    1. acitation for dui, resulting in a revocation. these cases require the following minimum insurance coverage
      • $100,000 bodily injury liability (bil) (to one person).
      • $300,000 bodily injury liability to two or more persons.
      • $50,000 property damage liability (pdl)
      • If you do not have the insurance required to comply with the financial responsibility law, your driver’s license and/or plates will be suspended for up to three years. You will need to pay a reinstatement fee and show dhsmv-certified proof of full liability insurance on form fr-44 for three years from the original suspension date to regain your driving privilege.

        1. a suspension for excessive points against your driver’s license.
        2. an accident in which you are at fault and injuries have occurred.
        3. a habitual traffic violator revocation.
        4. a revocation for any felony for which this department is required to revoke your license. cases listed above (excluding dui) must have the following minimum insurance coverage:
          • $10,000 bodily injury liability (bil) (to one person).
          • $20,000 liability for bodily injury to two or more persons.
          • $10,000 property damage liability (pdl), or
          • $30,000 combined single limits.
          • If you are involved in any of the above offenses (excluding dui) and do not have insurance to comply with the financial responsibility law, your driver’s license and/or plates will be suspended for up to three years. You will need to pay a $15 reinstatement fee and show dhsmv-certified proof of full liability insurance on form sr-22 for three years from the original suspension date to regain your driving privilege.

            In addition, if you are the driver or owner of a vehicle that is involved in an accident at your fault, this department may require you to pay damages before your driving privilege is reinstated. Under this law, to protect yourself and others, you must have liability insurance on any motor vehicle you own or operate, including motorcycles.

            4.9.2 – the law without fault

            Florida’s no-fault law requires owners of motor vehicles with four or more wheels (except taxis and limousines) who have been in the state for at least 90 consecutive days or non-consecutive days for the past 365 days to purchase a policy . delivered or issued for delivery in this state. the minimum coverage is:

CATEGORY: FAQ

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button